Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 0 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums12
Topics3,443
Posts13,203
Members7,064
Most Online175
Sep 26th, 2012
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Charge for spaces? #10913
01/27/03 01:18 AM
01/27/03 01:18 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 217
Wyoming
B
buckwolfe Offline OP
Supreme Gabber
buckwolfe  Offline OP
Supreme Gabber
B
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 217
Wyoming
Hi - Here's my first poll question! Do you charge for spaces?

Re: Charge for spaces? #10914
02/09/03 09:05 PM
02/09/03 09:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 118
Wisconsin
GracieO Offline
Veteran Gabber
GracieO  Offline
Veteran Gabber
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 118
Wisconsin
I have wondered about this, actually. My company considers a line to be 55 characters without spaces, and I know most companies are 65 characters with. I'd be curious whether anyone's figured out which is more $$$ for the MT... smile

Re: Charge for spaces? #10915
05/27/03 06:31 AM
05/27/03 06:31 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 2
Louisiana
M
mttuffy Offline
Newbie Gabber
mttuffy  Offline
Newbie Gabber
M
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 2
Louisiana
The company that I work for does a total characters divided by 65... spaces included. The lady that owns this company feels that if we PUT the characters in there, then we should get paid for them. A lot of companies use a line counter program (naturally) and I think you get Jipped with them... they just are not accurate if you keep track of characters for yourself...

Re: Charge for spaces? #10916
05/29/03 12:00 PM
05/29/03 12:00 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
Northwest Pennsylvania
P
pjb Offline
Gabber
pjb  Offline
Gabber
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
Northwest Pennsylvania
Good point . . .

I'm not certain but I believe that the majority of the MT companies do includes spaces; as you said, after all it is a keystroke. I think that even the line-counting programs have an option for including them. I'm in the midst of changing MT companies and the one I am going to pays by the line and includes spaces.

Re: Charge for spaces? #10917
08/31/03 03:10 AM
08/31/03 03:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 345
alaska
K
kip Offline
Supreme Gabber
kip  Offline
Supreme Gabber
K
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 345
alaska
I think it's only fair to charge for spaces because it is a keystroke. Unless the physician would like their dictation to look like this -

Lungsareclear.Abdomenissoftandnontender...
hee hee! sleep OK, so I'm overtired!

Kip smile


"A wiseman should consider that health is the greatest of human blessings." ~Hippocrates
Re: Charge for spaces? #10918
08/31/03 01:06 PM
08/31/03 01:06 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
South Carolina
M
MrsQASpec Offline
Veteran Gabber
MrsQASpec  Offline
Veteran Gabber
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
South Carolina
I agree with Kip. Spaces should be counted because it is a keystroke. The company I work for charges per black character (no spaces - 65 characters = 1 line). I guess that's an angle that's needed in my area, as the doctors have a choke hold on their purses! However, I also think they use it as a "perk" so the doctor doesn't feel he/she is being nickled and dimed to death.

Just think. . .If you check around in your area and find out that the MTs/ICs charge for spaces and word gets out that you don't, you would probably end up with the majority of the business over time. But that's just my opinion. :p


www.onlinetxessentials.com
Helping MTs Get to Know Their Computer

Moderated by  SOMara 





Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1.1
(Release build 20180111)
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 13 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9627 MB (Peak: 1.1043 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2022-08-08 00:49:54 UTC